All Information About National Flag of India

All Information About National Flag of India

The Indian Tricolor’s History

Every free nation in the world has a flag of its own. It represents a free country. The Indian National Flag was chosen in its current shape during a meeting of the Constituent Assembly on July 22, 1947, just days before India’s independence from the British on August 15, 1947. Between 15 August 1947 and 26 January 1950, it was the national flag of the Dominion of India, and afterwards the Republic of India. The Indian national flag is referred to as “tricolour” in India.

The Indian national flag is a horizontal tricolour with equal proportions of deep saffron (kesari) at the top, white in the middle, and dark green at the bottom. The width of the flag is two to three times its length. The chakra is represented by a navy blue wheel in the centre of the white ring. Its design is based on the wheel found on the abacus of Ashoka’s Sarnath Lion Capital. Its diameter is about the same as the white band’s breadth, and it has 24 spokes.

Colours of the flag

The upper band of India’s national flag is saffron-colored, symbolising the country’s power and courage. With Dharma Chakra, the white centre band represents peace and truth. The last ring, which is green in colour, represents the land’s fertility, growth, and auspiciousness.

The Ashok Chakra

The Chakra is the energetic centre of the body. The “wheel of the law” was symbolised in this Dharma Chakra in the Sarnath Lion Capital, which was built by Mauryan Emperor Ashoka in the 3rd century BC. The chakra is meant to demonstrate that life is found in movement and death is found in immobility.

Code of the Flag

The Indian flag code was changed on January 26, 2002, and inhabitants of India were now allowed to hoist the Indian flag above their homes, offices, and factories on any day, not only national holidays, as was previously the case. Indians can now proudly display the national flag anywhere and whenever they want, as long as the Flag Code is rigorously obeyed to avoid any disrespect to the tricolour. The Flag Code of India, 2002, has been broken into three parts for your convenience. The National Flag is described in general in Part I of the Code. The display of the National Flag by members of the public, private organisations, educational institutions, and other entities is addressed in Part II of the Code. The National Flag is displayed by the Central and State governments, as well as their organisations and agencies, according to Part III of the Code.

Based on law passed on January 26, 2002, there are some guidelines for flying the flag. The following are some of them:


  • The National Flag may be flown in educational institutions (schools, colleges, sports camps, scout camps, and so on) to inspire respect for the Flag. The flag flying in schools now includes an oath of allegiance.
  • On all days and occasions, ceremonial or otherwise consistent with the dignity and honour of the National Flag, a member of the public, a private group, or an educational institution may hoist/display the National Flag.
  • Section 2 of the new code recognises that all private persons have the right to fly the flag on their property.


The Don’ts

  • The Do’s and Don’ts: The flag may not be used for communal purposes, draperies, or clothing. It should be flown as much as possible from sunrise to sunset, regardless of the weather.
  • The flag cannot be permitted to contact the ground, the floor, or the water’s surface. Vehicles, trains, boats, and aircraft cannot have it draped over the hood, top, sides, or back.
  • There can be no other flag or bunting higher than the flag. Also, no object can be placed on or above the flag, including flowers, garlands, or symbols. A tricolour festoon, rosette, or bunting cannot be used.


More information on India’s Flag Code

The Indian National Flag depicts the people of India’s ambitions and dreams. It is a symbol of our country’s pride. Several people, including members of the military forces, have unselfishly sacrificed their lives over the previous five decades to maintain the tricolour flying proudly.